* This program is subject to change.

July 16 (afternoon / evening only)

4:30 – 5 p.m.
I. Introduction / Welcome Remarks:
Ricardo Guerrero (Scientific secretary of the IEC, professor at the Univ. of Barcelona)

5  – 6 p.m.
II. Afternoon Keynote:
James Boyle (Duke Law School, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Creative Commons, Founder of Science Commons)

6 – 7 p.m.
III. Informal reception to follow

July 17 (full day)

9 a.m.
I. Welcome remarks:
Ignasi Labastida i Juan – co-organizer (Creative Commons Spain and Catalonia, University of Barcelona)

9:15 – 10:45 a.m.
II. Open Access Today:  The International Perspective

David Prosser (SPARC Europe)
Jens Vigen (CERN, SCOAP3)
Leslie Chan (University of Toronto, OASIS Project)
Christoph Bruch (Max Planck Digital Library)
Johannes Fournier (DFG)

10:45 – 11 a.m.
Coffee Break

11 – 12 p.m.
III. Keynote: Carlos Morais-Pires (European Commission)

12 – 1:30 p.m.
IV. Moving OA to the Scientific Enterprise:  Data, Materials, and Software

Fabrizio Gagliardi (Microsoft Research)
Miquel Huguet (Supercomputing Centre of Catalonia (CESCA))
Wilma Mossink (SURF)
Michael Day (UKOLN)

1:30 – 2:30 p.m.
Lunch (provided)

2:30 – 4: 00 p.m
V. Open Access in the Knowledge Network

Tom Deuderwaerdere (, Microbial Commons)
Juan Carlos de Martin (Communia)
Jennifer Jenkins (Center for Study of the Public Domain, Duke University)
Eloy Rodrigues (EUA, Universidade do Minho)

4:00 – 4:15 p.m.
Coffee Break

4:30 – 6 p.m.
VI. Open Society, Open Science: Principles and Lessons from OA

John Wilbanks (Science Commons)
Javier Hernandez-Ros (European Commission)
Alexis-Michel Mugabushaka (European Science Foundation)